Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Books (8)

Invitation to the Game review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 02:26 (A review of Invitation to the Game)

This was the first book I read by Monica Hughes, and probably my favourite of all the ones she has written. An excellent storyline, awesome characters, and a fairly mysterious situation. Really fun.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Wild Magic (Immortals) review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 02:21 (A review of Wild Magic (Immortals))

The first Tamora Pierce book I ever read. Excellent for a roadtrip/plane ride or something: Quick and entertaining.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ella Enchanted (Trophy Newbery) review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 02:20 (A review of Ella Enchanted (Trophy Newbery))

An amazing story that fills out Cinderella fantastically. I didn't even realize it was a cinderella story until the third time I read it(yes, I am slow)

Lots of funny little moments, a very light and cute read.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Castaways of the Flying Dutchman review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 02:19 (A review of Castaways of the Flying Dutchman)

Brian Jacques has taken a huge step forward with this new series. Finally, a change from the same-old storyline about animals!

I have really enjoyed the two books in this series so far. Very well written, original, and entertaining. I look forward to seeing more!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Memoirs of a Geisha review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 12:24 (A review of Memoirs of a Geisha)

I put off reading this book for a good long time, which is what I always do with novels that make headlines (I still haven't read any of Dan Brown's work). I just don't like the idea of a bunch of know-nothings sitting around and reading these immensely popular books (simply because Oprah told them to) and discussing them as though they're an authority on the topic. Yes, the books usually are quite good, but I hate it when people blow the 'good' out of proportion just to jump on the bandwagon and sound intelligent. However, I knew I had to read Memoirs of a Geisha at some point, so when I got it for my birthday from Shaun, I was ready for some serious readage.

As far as entertainment went, Memoirs of a Geisha was good. I don't think I've ever been so sucked in by a first paragraph in my entire life! As the story progressed, it was still a good read. There were a few slow parts, but overall, I think I was pretty involved in the characters. After all, I ditched Shaun's lovely conversation for more reading. My complaints? A weak middle part. I actually felt like there was no middle of the story - there was the beginning, a build-up, and an end, but there was no real climax. Arthur Golden didn't do a very good job of describing just how amazing Sayuri was at the peak of her career. She never really felt like a famous, successful geisha the way you would expect. Also, I found her life after the war to be very short and brief, as though he was trying to squeeze a bunch of random facts in. I think the way he did this made me feel a bit like I had read an incomplete novel, which was a bit of a disappointment.

My other huge issue was just how self obsessed Sayuri was. I'm still trying to decide whether or not Golden meant her to be this way. As soon as she had taken the place of Pumpkin in terms of favour, I knew Pumpkin would be bitter and play some sort of betraying role later on. However, I don't think Sayuri even mentioned Pumpkin. If the point was to make Sayuri seem self-centred, it worked, but it also made her seem like an idiot, and contradicted the way she was in other sections of the novel.

Other characters as well, I felt were developed in one way, and then turned around and said/did something that their character wouldn't have said. Consistency of personality could have been polished. I'm not saying that people can't be unpredictable, but their actions have to make sense.

Nit picking aside, I enjoyed this book. I don't know about accuracy (I'm certainly not going to start lecturing about what Geishas 'were really like'), but as a fun, light read, it was a good one.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Speaker for the Dead review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 12:23 (A review of Speaker for the Dead)

I think of all the ender books, this is the one I liked the least. It was still good... but... I don't know. I just found it a bit tedious.

Still, I think it's worth reading.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ender's Shadow review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 12:21 (A review of Ender's Shadow)

An excellent companion to Ender's Game. The same story from a different viewpoint. Some might think that it's overkill/it ruins the original story... but it's not. I loved this book just as much as the first.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ender's Game review

Posted : 11 years, 2 months ago on 24 April 2006 12:20 (A review of Ender's Game)

To make a long story short: This is a very good book.

Very well written, very original. A must read :D


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block